Return to Headlines

AcaDec Team Headed to Nationals

LCWM Academic Decathlon Team Places Second in State

and Earns Trip to Nationals in Bloomington, MN


The LCWM Academic Decathlon team placed second overall at the state competition held February 23-25 at Oak Ridge Conference Center in Chaska, MN. Team scores were:

Avalon – 36,517.5 points

LCWM – 34,203.1 points

St. Peter Blue – 33,634.8 points

Nevis – 25,962.6 points

St. Peter White – 10,290.6 points

Worthington – 7,639.0 points


With LCWM placing second overall in the state, they will represent Minnesota at the national competition to be held April 23 – 27 in Bloomington, MN, as the Division IV (Wild Card) team. This will be LCWM’s 14th appearance in a national Academic Decathlon competition. Past appearances include California in 1999, Alaska in 2001, Arizona in 2002, the medium school national online competition in 2008, the small school national online competition in 2010 and 2011, New Mexico in 2012, Minnesota in 2013, Hawaii in 2014, and the small school national online competition in 2015, 2016, and 2017, and Texas in 2018. At the national competition, students will take written tests in art, economics, literature, math, music, science, and social science, present a prepared and impromptu speech, participate in an interview, and write an essay. They will also take part in the Super Quiz Relay which challenges students to answer questions in a head-to-head quiz show format. This year’s curriculum theme is 1960s. LCWM students will be competing for national medals as well as scholarships.


Members of the LCWM team are:

Honors: Samuel Germscheid, Sophie Begnaud, and Kaitlyn Kirchner;

Scholastic: Jack Richards, Landon Lantz, and Gunner McLeod;

Varsity: Carter Swanson, Grace Truebenbach, and Lucas Miller.

Team coach is Billy James.


Team members earned 38 medals at the competition. Every team member earned at least 2 medals. Earning medals were:


* Samuel Germscheid (honors): second in literature, third in art, first in speech, and first in interview;


* Sophie Begnaud (honors): third in math, second in art, third in speech, and first in essay;


* Kaitlyn Kirchner (honors): third in art and third in interview;


* Jack Richards (scholastic): second in art, first in science, third in music, and second in speech;


* Landon Lantz (scholastic): second in art, first in music, and first in interview;


* Gunner McLeod (scholastic): third in literature, third in math, first in art, third in science, second in music, second in economics, and third overall;


* Carter Swanson (varsity): third in literature, third in social science, second in music, third in economics, and first in interview;


* Grace Truebenbach (varsity): third in math, first in social science, third in art, third in science, second in economics, third in essay, and third overall;


* Lucas Miller (varsity): first in music and first in economics.


The team’s highest scoring students in each division were: Samuel Germscheid (honors) with 6,593.4 points, Gunner McLeod (scholastic) with 5,500.1 points, and Grace Truebenbach (varsity) with 5,198.6 points. Gunner McLeod and Grace Truebenbach had the highest medal count at 7 medals a piece.


There were a total of 11 individual state championships earned by LCWM students. These students were Samuel Germscheid (2), Landon Lantz (2), Lucas Miller (2), Sophie Begnaud (1), Jack Richards (1), Gunner McLeod (1), Carter Swanson (1), and Grace Truebenbach (1).


Six students were selected by their judges from all of the state participants to present their speeches during the “Speech Showcase” event at the state banquet. LCWM had two students in the Speech Showcase. These students were Sophie Begnaud and Samuel Germscheid. Sophie’s speech topic was “Living in the Shadow of an Older Brother” and Samuel’s speech topic was “Social Differences”.


The team wishes to thank parents, teachers, administrators, and the community for the continued support and interest in the program. Special recognition goes to all of the parents and family members that attended the state banquet in Chaska. Special thanks go to Sue Ehlers, Karissa Hall, Tom Farrell, and Alex Keilen for their help in preparing the students for competition.