HIGH SCHOOL DRIVER’S ED
This course is designed to prepare the first-time driving student with the information and knowledge required to pass the Minnesota Driver’s permit test and the Minnesota Class D Driver’s License test. This class requires the student to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction. These hours are mandated by law if a student under the age of 18 is to acquire a Driver Permit or License.
Location: LCWM Sec. School Rm 213
Dates: Sept. 30, Oct. 19, 20, 21, 28, 30, Nov. 2, 4, 6 and 9
Sept. 30, Oct. 19, 20, 21, 28 and Nov. 4 from 12:30-3:30 pm
Oct. 30, Nov. 2 and 6 from 3:15-6:15 pm
Nov. 9 from 3:15-5:15 & 5:30-7 pm
Behind the Wheel appointments begin in mid-November!
Schedule is tentative to change!
Fee: $300 ($150 is due at pre-registration)
The balance is due at the completion of the classroom instruction.
Registration Deadline: Fri., Sept. 22
Please include DOB when registering.
MUST BE 15 years old by Dec. 1, 2017
STUDENTS NEED TO Bring pen, pencil and NOTEBOOK to the first session.
Supplemental Parent Class:
Thursday, Nov. 9 from 5:30-7 p.m.
*See Graduated Driver License Law http://mn01000406.schoolwires.net/Page/156
Here is the link to the Minnesota practice tests:
Driving Log (pdf)
Effective January 1, 2015, every driver under the age of 18 who completes behind the wheel instruction and is testing for a provisional driver’s license must submit a driving log. Parents/guardians have two options regarding the supervised driving log:
- Complete a supplemental parent class provided by a driver education program approved in Minnesota, and then submit a supervised driving log showing their teen has completed at least 40 hours (2,400 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours;
- If the parent/guardian chooses to not complete the supplemental parent class, the driving log must show that their teen has completed at least 50 hours (3,000 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are nighttime hours.
Parents/guardians are encouraged to provide as many additional driving hours with their teen as possible to prepare them to become a safe driver. The driving log must be presented at the time of the road test and submitted with the application for the provisional license.